EECS 285: Practical Programming in Java

Fall 2021

Introduction to the Java language, with graphical user interfaces and mobile programming in Java. Build an object-oriented game simulator, a playable graphical game, and an Android application.

See the syllabus for all the details.

Schedule


Open calendar in new window

Day L# Lecture Topic Deadline
Wed 1 Sep L01 Introduction and Basic Java
Wed 8 Sep L02 Classes and Objects
Wed 15 Sep L03 Enums and Inheritance Quiz 1 (L02, L03) open Wed 15 Sep 8pm - Sun 19 Sep 8pm
Project 1 due Fri 17 Sep 8pm
Wed 22 Sep L04 Inheritance and Polymorphism
Wed 29 Sep L05 Arrays and Exceptions Quiz 2 (L04, L05) open Wed 29 Sep 8pm - Sun 3 Oct 8pm
Wed 6 Oct L06 Interfaces, Nested Classes, and GUIs Project 2 due Fri 8 Oct 8pm
Wed 13 Oct L07 GUIs II Quiz 3 (L06, L07) open Wed 13 Oct 8pm - Sun 17 Oct 8pm
Wed 20 Oct L08 GUIs III and Design Patterns
Wed 27 Oct L09 Generics and Collections Quiz 4 (L08, L09) open Wed 27 Oct 8pm - Sun 31 Oct 8pm
Wed 3 Nov L10 Input and Output Project 3 due Fri 5 Nov 8pm
Wed 10 Nov L11 Android Quiz 5 (L10, L11) open Wed 10 Nov 8pm - Sun 14 Nov 8pm
Wed 17 Nov L12 Android II Project 4 setup due Wed 17 Nov 8pm
Wed 1 Dec L13 Android III Quiz 6 (L12, L13) open Wed 1 Dec 8pm - Sun 5 Dec 8pm
Wed 8 Dec L14 Threads and Unit Testing Project 4 due Fri 10 Dec 8pm

People

Photo of Kristopher Smith
Kristopher Smith

krjgsmth@umich.edu

Photo of Rithika Ganesh
Rithika Ganesh

rithikag@umich.edu

Photo of William Wang
William Wang

wiljwang@umich.edu